Former Trojans nominated for College World Series Legends Team

Twelve alumni of the USC baseball team have been nominated for the College World Series Legends Team based on their performance in past tournaments.

The Legends Team is designed to represent the student athletes and coaches who had the best performances throughout the last 60 years of the tournament. There are 95 nominees and the final team will consist of 27 members after the selection process.

The Trojans have the most championships of any collegiate baseball team, and the 12 alumni are being recognized for their outstanding performances in USC‘s many trips to the CWS.

The team is being put together in honor of the 60th and final College World Series played at Rosenblatt Stadium, in Omaha, Neb. Next season, the CWS will move to TD Ameritrade Park Omaha, where it will remain until at least 2035.

The Trojans have a player nominated at each position, including coach Rod Dedeaux who guided USC to 10 national championships throughout his 45 year tenure. Joining the legendary coach are first baseman Bill Seinsoth, second basemen Wes Rachels and Stanley Charnofsky, third baseman Bob Lillis, shortstop Ron Smalley, outfielders Ron Fairley, Geoff Jenkins and Fred Lynn, catcher Bud Hollowell, pitcher Russ McQueen and designated hitter Jason Lane.

Voting will be conducted by the National Baseball Writers Association, NCAA Division I head coaches, and fans. Voting is available at, and is open until April 16. The results will be announced in early May. All the players and coaches selected will be flown out to Omaha to be recognized on June 19, the first day of this year’s tournament.