Winners of the Tommy Awards announced this week

The fifth annual Tommy Awards, hosted by USC’s Student-Athlete Advisory Council, were announced this week.

Senior two-meter Kami Craig of the water polo team received Best Female Athlete. With 24 goals so far this season, Craig has helped lead her team to a 17-1 record as of April 3.

On the men’s side, Best Male Athlete was shared between wide receiver Damian Williams and senior tennis player Robert Farah. Williams scored six touchdowns and had 1,010 total receiving yards this season. He finished his career at USC with a total of 2,114 receiving yards.  As of April 5, Farah had an overall record of 23-5 for singles competition and a 19-3 record with doubles partner Steve Johnson.

The No. 17 women’s tennis team earned the Female Best Team of the Year award after compiling an 11-7 record as of April 3. The men’s water polo team received the Male Best Team of the Year award after becoming the NCAA Champions with an overall record of 26-2.

Senior Rebecca Soni of the swimming and diving team won the award for Record Breaking Performance after setting the USC record for the 100-yard breaststroke at 58.10 seconds, the 200-yard breaststroke at 2:04.75 seconds and for her contribution to the 200- and 400-yard medley relays that also set USC records.

Serving as the head coach of both the USC men’s and women’s water polo teams, Jovan Vavic was awarded the Coach of the Year award for coaching the men’s water polo team to a National Championship and the women’s water polo team to a 17-1 record as of April 3.

Other Tommy award winners include senior two-meter Jordan Thompson of the men’s water polo team for Male- Individual Day Performance, junior Zsofia Erdelyi of the track team for Female Individual Day Performance, senior Ahmad Rashad of the track team for Best Comeback after battling a hamstring injury, senior opposite hitter Jon Hackett for Male Trojan of the Year, senior hurdler Shalina Clarke for Female Trojan of the Year and Gregg Millward, Academic Counselor and Eligibility Coordinator, won Staff of the Year.