Paramore to release new EP this summer

After losing founding members Josh (guitar) and Zac Farro (drums), the once five-piece alternative rock act Paramore has been writing songs as a three-piece outfit, and is prepared to record some tracks to be released in the summer.

Hayley Williams (vocals), Taylor York (guitar), and Jeremy Davis (bass) have not let the Farro brothers’ departures stop them from going full steam ahead with Paramore, but the first of their new songs to appear does differ greatly in style and tone from their past material.

Making appearances on Williams’ Tumblr, the band’s homepage and various Youtube videos from live performances, “In the Mourning” has almost a folk feel to it and features Williams singing soft, catchy melodies over a single acoustic guitar.

It is expected that the other songs the band will release this summer on their new EP will be in a similar vein in that they will be slower, acoustic songs as opposed to their signature alternative rock/pop-punk material.

Williams assures fans, however, that there will be heavier songs when the band comes out with a new full-length record later in the year, which will be the follow-up to 2009’s wildly successful Brand New Eyes.

After their current South American tour is completed, the band head to the studio to work with producer Rob Cavallo (known for collaboration with Green Day) on getting the new songs recorded and released as soon as possible.

The Faroo brothers are now part of a new band called Novel American which is also set to begin recording and releasing new material in the near future.