Murphy Troy snags player of the year honors

The No. 1 USC men’s volleyball team is in the midst of an impressive season, and as a result, the Mountain Sports Federation showered the Trojans with various postseason honors today.

Every starter on the No. 1 Trojans was honored on All-MPSF teams.

USC senior outside hitter Murphy Troy was named the MPSF Player of the Year. Joining Troy on the first team was junior outside hitter Tony Ciarelli and senior setter Riley McKibbin.

Representing for the Trojans on the second team were senior outside hitter Tri Bourne and junior middle blocker Steven Shandrick made the All-MPSF second team.

Senior middle blocker Austin Zahn and freshman libero Henry Cassiday were named All-MPSF honorable mention. Cassiday also made the all-freshman team.

To cap it off, Coach Bill Ferguson was selected as the MPSF Coach of the Year.

USC hosts UCLA in a quarterfinal match of the MPSF Tournament on Saturday at 7 p.m. at the Galen Center.