No Heisman winner for 2005

The Heisman Trophy Trust, following Reggie Bush’s decision to give up his Heisman Trophy, has decided against naming a replacement winner of the 2005 award.

“As a result of Reggie Bush’s decision to forfeit his title as Heisman winner of 2005, the Trustees have determined that there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year 2005,” a statement from the Trust read.

Due to the Trust’s decision, Vince Young, the 2005 runner-up, will not receive the award. Young, however, is unperturbed.

“I would not want to have it, and don’t want the trophy… 2005 Reggie Bush is the Heisman Trophy winner. Why would I want it?” Young told reporters on Wednesday.

College football players must be in compliance with NCAA rules to be eligible to receive the Heisman Trophy.

The NCAA deemed Bush ineligible for the 2005 season and hit USC hard with sanctions when it was discovered that Bush, along with basketball player O.J. Mayo, accepted lavish gifts from an outside agency during their time at USC.

The NCAA’s discoveries left the option open for the Trust to take away Bush’s award on account of his ineligibility in the 2005 season. Bush, however, did not give the Heismab Trust the chance by giving up his Heisman willingly on Tuesday.

This is the first time in its 75-year history that the Heisman Trophy has been returned by one of its recipients.