Heisman Trust to keep 2005 award vacant

After former USC running back Reggie Bush officially forfeited his 2005 Heisman Trophy Tuesday, the Heisman Trophy Trust met Wednesday and announced it would not re-award the trophy.

“As a result of Reggie Bush’s decision to forfeit his title as Heisman winner of 2005, the Trustees have determined that there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year 2005,” a statement from the Trust said.

The NCAA deemed Bush ineligible for the 2005 season and hit USC hard with sanctions when it was discovered that Bush, along with one-and-done basketball player O.J. Mayo, accepted lavish gifts from outside agents during their time at USC.

The NCAA’s discoveries gave the Trust the opportunity to take away Bush’s award on account of his ineligibility in the 2005 season. By giving up his Trophy willingly, however, Bush avoided that scenario and said he is dedicated to helping the Trust in the future.

“It was a difficult decision to return the Heisman Trophy and he exhibited great character in acknowledging his mistakes and accepting the consequences,” the Trust said.

This is the first time in its 75-year history that the Heisman Trophy has been returned by one of its recipients.

Former Texas quarterback Vince Young, who was the runner-up to Bush for the award in 2005, said he is not disappointed the Trust did not retroactively award him the prize.

“I would not want to have it, and don’t want the trophy,” Young, who is now the Tennessee Titans quarterback, said to reporters on Wednesday. “Like I said, 2005 Reggie Bush is the Heisman Trophy winner. Why would I want it?”