Vavic named Pac-12 Coach of the Century

Head water polo coach Jovan Vavic was named Pac-12 Coach of the Century on Tuesday. Four of Vavic’s players, Joel Dennerley (2008-2011), Kostas Genidounias (2011-2014), J.W. Krumpholz (2006-2009) and Nikola Vavic (2010-2013) were named to the Pac-12 All-Century team.

The former Trojans have a combined 13 national championships and were all named National Player of the Year during their time at Troy. They all also helped Vavic win his record six consecutive national titles.

Three of the four won the Peter J. Cutino award during their USC careers, the highest award in collegiate men’s water polo. Krumpholz won the award in both 2008 and 2009 and went on to win a silver medal with Team USA at the 2008 Olympic Games. Dennerley won the award during his senior season in 2011 after starting as goalie during Vavic’s first four title runs. Genidounias, USC’s all-time leading scorer, won the award in 2014 after winning three titles under Vavic. Vavic has coached 10 Peter J. Cutino Award winners during his tenure.

Vavic’s son, Nikola Vavic, won four NCAA titles with his father and was named the National Player of the Year twice during his tenure.

Vavic has led the men’s and women’s teams to a combined 13 national championships, the most of any coach in USC history. He led the men’s team to a record six consecutive titles from 2008 to 2013. He has won a title with both the women’s team and the men’s team in the same year four times (1998-99, 2003-04, 2009-10 and 2012-13).

In addition to being named Pac-12 Coach of the Century, Vavic has been named National Coach of the Year 12 times and MPSF Coach of the Year 10 times.

Vavic, currently coaching his 21st season with the men’s team, has a 472-75 overall record, winning over 86 percent of his games.

Vavic’s daughter, Monica, is a senior on the women’s team and will enter the 2016 season as USC’s No. 7 all-time scorer.

The 16-man roster is comprised of four Trojans, four Cardinal, six Bruins and two Bears. Stanford’s Tony Azevedo was named the Pac-12 Player of the Century.